AMERICAN HONKY TONK (1999)

by

We can see mecca. There is smoke on the horizon as we head east, the plume of smoke emanating from the burnout box way up yonder. This is a portent and a promise of some seriously high-octane hot rod action, and a chance to get the dirt on Leasher and Infinity from the Goat.

BZ and I are not alone in our pilgrimage: A bottleneck of hot rods, economy cars and motor homes crimp Famoso/Wasco Road, from the west off of the Highway 99 offramp and from the east off of Porterville Highway.

I find a Lefty Frizzell song on the AM radio. It was the one about “She’s Gone, gone, gone…,” anchored by a ton of reverb and a lo-fidelity fuzz bass. I didn’t need the numbers on a road sign to tell me we were getting closer to Bakersfield.

“Ahhh, this is real American honky tonk,” I say.

“Yeah…None of this modern county music that sounds like it was recorded at a super collider in Switzerland.”

I think I understand what he means, and I agree with him. As usual.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

